Sustainability Awards & Board Elections at Annual Annual Meeting

AFFEW President, Julia Chambers presented the 2022 Sustainability Awards at the annual meeting on October 26.

Environmentalists of the Year 
Dave and Chrissie Hall have supported AFFEW from the beginning. Both have served in the past on the AFFEW board. They support a eco-friendly lifestyle including solar power for their home, native plants and organic fertilizer, composting, among other sustainable practices. The Hall’s also donated the initial funds for AFFEW to start an account with the Foundation for Mason County and has made generous donation towards the annual Household Hazardous Waste event.

Volunteer of the Year 
Local botanist and author Dave Dister has been a active volunteer in our local community for several years. He helps lead the invasive plant species identification and removal at Cartier Park. Dave also provides his expertise with guided hikes and presentations. He writes a monthly column, “The Life of a Naturalist”, for the Ludington Daily News and is the author of The Birds of Mason County, Michigan.

Sustainable business of the Year 
Ludington Bay Brewing Company has been using sustainable practices since its inception in 2017. From compostable packaging to turning spent grain into food for animals, Ludington Bay Brewing has been a sustainable leader in our community. In April 2022, between collecting electronics for recycling during their  Earth Month event and beer sale proceeds, over $900 was donated to AFFEW! Brandy Bentley accepted the award on behalf of owners, Ted & Louise Gedra.
AFFEW Board elections also took place at the event. Sharon Edger was re-elected for another two year term. Dawn Stowe and Dan Mahynski were new electees replacing outgoing board members Karla Cain and Ann Gilchrist. Read more about the evenings events at the Ludington Daily News.